The Hop Czar Post

I’m going to break the normal pace of these blogs tonight and post about something that currently (and momentarily) sits upon my heart.

A week ago I purchased a 6 pack of Hop Czar beer.  I read the description before buying it realizing this was a “craft” beer and possibly something odd and/or unique.  But I figured if they sold it at Fry’s Food and Drug, then it can’t be all that esoteric.

So I took it home.  A few nights later I cracked open my first bottle and took a sip.  I was stunned by the bitter, acrid, acidic taste that suddenly seized my entire tongue and throat.  I swallowed the swill not so much to taste it, but rather to get it out of my mouth.  Unfortunately this didn’t work – I still had this clinging, biting bitterness in the back of my throat and tongue that would not go away.

Over the next few days I tried to consume the remainder of the 6-pack with other foods – pizza, sausage, sour kraut, soup – nothing helped the flavor.  And nothing changed it for the better.  This is a sad state indeed.

So after finishing off the second to last bottle, I decided to google “hop czar” and see what comes up.  To my surprise, there was nothing but praise for the brew.  About the most critical thing I could find was that it was “not bad.”

So I immediately ran to my computer and went to my only internet sounding board – this blog – to tell the world with all my might that

HOP CZAR BEER BY BRIDGEPORT BREWERY IS THE WORST TASTING CRAPOLA THAT I HAVE EVER PUT IN MY MOUTH IN MY ENTIRE LIFE AND I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER OUNCE OF IT EVER AGAIN!

There.  I feel better now.

Oh, and I don’t like Heineken either – tastes like bitter squirrel pee to me.  But at least on that account I know that I’m not alone.

Leave a comment